A gluten intolerance can present itself in many different ways including bloating, gas, nausea, headaches, and even joint pain. If you’re considering going gluten-free, here are a few surprising foods you need to avoid.
Chocolate
Chocolate lovers beware. If the ingredients include wheat, barley malt, or malt, choose a different brand. Always check the ingredients list. It’s also a safe bet to stay away from any crispy or crunchy chocolate.
Chips
You may be surprised to hear that many chips are not gluten-free. While they’re made from potatoes or corn, a lot of the extra ingredients may have gluten lurking in them. Many barbecued flavor chips have gluten, and chips like Pringles and Sun Chips contain gluten. Never just assume something is gluten free, always check the label.
Medications
Gluten is used as a binder in some medications. Unfortunately, it’s hard to tell which ones because the ingredient usually isn’t listed. You can expect that most generic medications contain gluten.
Seasoning Mixes
When it comes to mixed seasoning, you have to watch out. While individual spices are okay, mixes, like chili seasoning often contain gluten.
Pickles
Pickles?! No! Some pickling processes involve the use of an ingredient called malt vinegar. Malt vinegar can possibly contain gluten.
Ice Cream
Gluten is found in ice cream when you start getting into the fun flavors. Cookie dough ice cream usually contains gluten, and flour can be used as a thickener in some ice creams.
Soy Sauce
Soy sauce is usually made with only four ingredients– soybeans, wheat, salt, and water. Next time you’re eating rice or sushi, skip the soy sauce.
Imitation Meats
Speaking of sushi, imitation seafood which is used in some rolls can contain gluten. If you’re vegetarian, be aware that many veggie patties are made using gluten.
When you decide to go gluten-free, the best way to do it is to check the ingredients list in every item you eat. Sometimes you may be surprised to find gluten in the least expected foods. Lucky for you, you never have to worry about gluten when it comes to snacks like Marigold Bars!
Very Informative